Dubwa

Many people may not like George Bush. I am not certain how I feel about him. It’s easy to follow along with everyone else and just complain about the man and the job he did, but I have never been a follower. I bought his book, Decision Points, but have yet to read it. I wanted to get a better idea of whether I liked or disliked this man that’s so hated. Since I have yet to read it, I decided I should watch the Oprah episode that he was on to finally get a better understanding of this man and my opinion of him. Not that my opinion matters much, but learning about someone and why you like or dislike them is important to learning more about yourself.

What I learned are three things. First, he said he stuck by his principles with every decision he made. Even if it was unpopular, he did what he thought was right and stayed true to his values. I think this is huge. No matter how many people hated him, at the end of the day, he stuck by his convictions. In other words, he can live with himself after his presidency was over. I admire him greatly for that.

The other thing he said, and consequently his actions have stayed true to, is that he never criticizes Obama. He doesn’t feel it’s necessary and in fact believes the president has a tough job on his own without people criticizing him. I am in awe of him. Who are to tell the president he’s not doing a good enough job? Would we be any better? We are entitled to our opinions, but I don’t think it’s necessary to voice them in every situation. Your opinion won’t change even if you don’t voice them.

Because of this, I learned that I really, really like this man. I am still unsure of how he rated as a president, but I think Obama has a hard enough job without me adding on my “expertise.”

2 thoughts on “Dubwa

  1. Your Favorite Ex-Co-Worker (Hint: Not Miranda) says:

    I took a class on the US Presidency in college and one of the main points (any maybe the only thing) that I remember is that the president knows so much more about every situation than we will ever know–that’s why I will never hold a candidate to all of his campaign promises… and while I’ll question things, I always like to give the president the benefit of the doubt. It’s a tough job and certainly one that I would never want!

    PS- I didn’t know you had a blog! I guess I know what I’m reading tonight 🙂

    • A.M. says:

      Love that you’re my favorite ex-co-worker and that you are not Miranda! 🙂 I agree with you about the President. Their job is tough and we simply are not privy to all the information that they have and therefore all of our judgements are baseless, really.

Leave a Reply

