Savory Crescent Chicken Squares and Cheesy Potato Corn Cakes

This is the first recipe the kids and I decided to make.

IMG_4065

My mom printed this recipe on October 30, 1998, but as you can see, it won the 1974 Pillsbury bake-off competition! I made a few changes such as eliminating celery since I didn’t have it on hand and I don’t really like it. I also cooked chicken breasts and used my favorite spices on the chicken.

IMG_4064

It was super easy to make and could be adapted to taste, such as a bbq version, a spicier version, a meatless version, etc..

IMG_4068

After adding the chicken:

IMG_4070

Filing the squares.

IMG_4071

I topped them with Parmesan cheese rather than croutons.

IMG_4072

After we decided on the Crescent Squares, we needed a side dish. This one was easy to throw together too and could also be adapted to different tastes. Here is the recipe.

IMG_4066

My mom printed this recipe in 2006! My youngest daughter was less than a month old at that time. We were living in New Hampshire and my mom was in Mississippi.

Overall, my oldest daughter and I loved the crescent squares and my two youngest loved the corn cakes. Go figure. This is the beginning of the corn cakes.

IMG_4067

Here are the corn cakes frying up.

IMG_4074

Here are the scores: The crescent chicken squares received a 6.5, 8, 8.5, and 9. The corn cakes received a 10, 8.5, 7, and 5.

IMG_4079

My youngest daughter made us place cards. She also set the table. You can always tell when she sets the table because she’s left handed.

IMG_4085

Overall, the first dinner was a success! My kids had fun helping and I think they were surprised at how good it all turned out. Maybe a great side effect of this project is they will learn to love cooking!

 

Leave a Reply

